RHODE ENTER TODAY’S AIB Leinster club football final with history against them.

They’ve been crowned Offaly champions on 26 occasions in total and eight times in of the last 13 years, but that’s where their success ends.

Four times in the past, Rhode have made it to the provincial decider, and four times they’ve been beaten.

They take on Dublin powerhouses St Vincent’s in this year’s final, having lost to clubs from the capital on three of those four occasions.

Clare club St Senan’s are the only other senior side to lose four provincial finals without winning one. Their latest defeat in a Munster decider was a 2005 loss to Nemo Rangers.

Two Munster sides have been beaten in three finals each – The Nire of Waterford and Clare’s Kilrush Shamrocks.

Meanwhile, Stradbally, Kilrossanty (both Waterford), Moyle Rover and Fethard (both Tipperary) have lost two apiece.

Plenty of other sides have been beaten in two provincial finals. In Leinster, Sarsfields of Kildare and St Joseph’s from Laois did so, as did Mayo’s Ballaghaderreen in Connacht.

In Ulster, Kilcoo, Mayobridge (both Down), Enniskillen Gales (Fermanagh) and Kingscourt Stars (Cavan) have also lost two finals and never won one.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Click Here: custom rapid prototyping

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *