Updated 12.50pm

BOTH TIPPERARY AND Limerick can call upon five senior football panelists for tomorrow’s EirGrid Munster U21 football quarter-final.

Jack Kennedy and Brian Fanning are two players with senior experience.

Source: INPHO

Colm O’Shaughnessy is the most established senior player in the Tipperary U21 ranks, corner-back on the side that reached last year’s All-Ireland semi-final against Mayo.

Click Here: westmeath gaa jerseys

Colm O’Shaughnessy in action against Mayo’s Aidan O’Shea.

Source: Tommy Grealy/INPHO

In addition, Willie Connors, Jack Kennedy, Aidan Buckley and Emmet Moloney are all part of Liam Kearns Tipperary senior football squad.

Centre-forward Stephen Quirke is part of the Tipperary senior hurling panel while midfielder Danny Owens captains the side, managed by Declan Browne.

In total there are seven members of the Tipperary team contested the 2015 All-Ireland minor final with Kennedy, Buckley, Moloney, Quirke and Owens joined by goalkeeper Charlie Manton and corner-forward Brendan Martin.

Tipperary U21 football captain Danny Owens.

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

For Limerick wing-back Brian Fanning, midfielder Tommie Childs and centre-forward Hugh Bourke all started last July in Limerick’s All-Ireland senior qualifier exit against Cork.

Hugh Bourke in action for Limerick against Cork last July.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

U21 captain Killian Ryan – named at wing-forward for tomorrow night’s game in the Gaelic Grounds – came on as a substitute for the senior side in that game in Semple Stadium.

Corner-forward Brian Donovan is the other member of the U21 side who has seen game time at senior level.

Brian Donovan in action for Limerick against Kerry in the McGrath Cup final in January.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Limerick came close to causing a major upset last March when they lost out by three points to Kerry at the semi-final stage.

Bourke hit 0-6 in that game, Fanning bagged 1-1 and Ryan also raised a green flag.

That trio along with Brian Donovan, centre-back Sean Murphy, wing-back Michael Donovan, and midfielder Tommie Childs were all in that line-up.


1. Charlie Manton (Fethard)

2. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)
3. Liam Ryan (Clonmel Commercials)
4. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)

5. Daire Brennan (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
6. Liam Fahey (Rockwell Rovers)
7. Paudie Feehan (Killenaule)

8. Danny Owens (Moyle Rovers) (Captain)
9. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)

10. Aidan Buckley (St. Patrick’s)
11. Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers)
12. Emmet Moloney (Drom-Inch)

13. Joe Ryan (Kilmurry, Cork)
14. Jack Butler (Upperchurch-Drombane)
15. Brendan Martin (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)


1. Richard Hayes (St Senans)

2. David Connolly (Adare)
3. Jim Liston (Gerald Griffins)
4. Edward Sheehy (Granagh/Ballingarry)

5. Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen)
6. Sean Murphy (Newcastle West)
7. Michael Donovan (Galbally)

8. Josh Ryan (Oola)
9. Tommie Childs (Galtee Gaels)

10. Padraig De Brún (Firies, Kerry)
11. Hugh Bourke (Adare)
12. Killian Ryan (Mungret/St Pauls) (Captain)

13. Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh)
14. AJ O’Connor (Newcastle West)
15. Brian Donovan (Monaleen)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *