THE GALWAY TEAM has been named ahead of their EirGridU21 Connacht football championship quarter-final clash with Leitrim tomorrow.

Galway, who are fourth favourites to win the All-Ireland, behind Kerry, Dublin and Cork, have named a strong side for their season opener.

Robert Finnerty and Desmond Conneely, who kicked five points between them in last year’s All-Ireland final minor defeat to Kerry, start in a dangerous-looking full-forward line.

Salthill Knocknacarra forward Finnerty, the son of Mayo legend Anthony Finnerty, is expected to have a bright future with the Tribesmen.

The Galway side also includes Corofin duo, Kieran Molloy and Colin Brady, who featured against in their recent All-Ireland club semi-final defeat to Dr Crokes.

Midfielder Cillian McDaid won an All-Ireland minor hurling medal with Galway in 2015 and has also taken part in AFL trials in the past.

McDaid is currently part of Kevin Walsh’s senior set-up and has already featured in their Division 2 league campaign.

Leitrim have also announced their team, with current seniors Oisin Madden, Mark Plunkett, Ryan O’Rourke and Jack Heslin all named to start.


1. Ronan Ó Beolain (Micheal Breathnach)

2. Liam Kelly (An Spideal)
3. Dylan McHugh (Corofin)
4. Rory Greene (Killannin)

5. Sean Kelly (Maigh Cuilinn)
6. Sean Andy Kelly (Leitir Mor)
7. Kieran Molloy (Corofin)

8. Peter Cooke (Maigh Cuilinn)
9. Cillian McDaid (Monivea Abbey)

10. Colin Brady (Corofin)
11. Michael Daly (Mountbellew Moylough – capt)
12. Paul Mannion (Kilconly)

13. Robert Finnerty (Salthill Knocknacarra)
14. Eoin Finnerty (Mountbellew Moylough)
15. Dessie Conneely (Maigh Cuilinn)


1. Jack Burke Naomh (Pádraig-Droim Dá Eithear)

2. James Mitchell (Maothail)
3. Brian Leyden (Seán Ui Eislin-Béal an Átha Móir)
4. Liam Ryan (Gaeil na Meilge)

5. Donal Feely (Seán Ui Eislin-Béal an Átha Móir)
6. Dean Mc Govern (Seán Ui Eislin-Béal an Átha Móir)
7. Oisin Madden (Maothail)

8. Keith Keegan (Maothail)
9. Mark Plunkett (Achadh an Mhuilinn)

10. Jack Heslin (Gortleitreach)
11. Ryan O’Rourke (Naomh Caillian-Fionach)
12. Conor Dolan (Gleann an Chairthe/Cluainin)

13. Robbie Cunningham (Naomh Pádraig-Droim Dá Eithear)
14. Keith Beirne (Maothail)
15. Conor Gaffney (Droim Óir Bhéalaigh)

  • Galway v Leitrim, Connacht U21 FC quarter-final, Tuam Stadium, Saturday 3pm

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Click Here: Williams Racing Suit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *