Waterford 1-15
Kilkenny 0-17

Tomas McCarthy reports from Nowlan Park

WATERFORD EMERGED FROM a robust encounter at Nowlan Park with their first away win over Kilkenny since 2004.

The hosts struck the last three points of the contest but Derek McGrath’s side hung on for victory in front of 8,793 spectators.

Patrick Curran flashed home an early goal to give them the impetus and free taker Pauric Mahony nailed 0-10. Tadhg De Burca imposed himself from centre back while All Star midfielder Jamie Barron supplied three points. Captain Kevin Moran also made two huge plays in injury time to hold off the black and amber charge.

The away team had the benefit of the breeze at first on an extremely cold afternoon. Pauric Mahony knocked over eight from placed balls as the visitors enjoyed a four-point half-time lead (1-11 to 0-10).

All Star keeper Eoin Murphy saved spectacularly from Shane Bennett in the fourth minute. Tom Devine supplied Patrick Curran on 13 minutes and the corner forward fired low under Murphy (1-3 to 0-2).

TJ Reid kept Kilkenny in touch with six points (five frees). A brace of Mahony frees recovered Waterford’s four-point advantage.

Michael Kearney whizzed the sliotar across the face of goal on the half-hour mark after he received a hand pass from Michael Walsh. Mahony completed the opening period with three further conversions.

The Ballygunner forward stretched the lead to five on the restart and then assisted a point for Jamie Barron.

Sub Walter Walsh fired in Kilkenny’s first point of the second half from an acute angle. A TJ Reid treble left only two between them after 52 minutes. Derek McGrath then introduced Austin Gleeson off the bench for the final quarter.

Pat Lyng was stretchered off the field following a crunching hit by Stephen Daniels — the defender was shown a yellow card.

Mahony registered Waterford’s first point in 21 minutes from a close-range free. Barron subsequently added his third from play entering the closing stretch (1-15 to 0-14).

Reid (65), Murphy (free) and Kieran Joyce narrowed the gap to a point deep in stoppage time, but Richie Hogan’s late attempt for an equaliser sailed wide.

Scorers for Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-10 (9fs, 1 65’); Patrick Curran 1-1; Jamie Barron 0-3; Conor Gleeson 0-1.

Scorers for Kilkenny: TJ Reid 0-10 (6fs, 2 65s); Kieran Joyce, Eoin Murphy (f), Ollie Walsh, Pat Lyng, Liam Blanchfield, Richie Hogan, Walter Walsh 0-1 each.


1. Ian O’Regan (Mount Sion)

Click Here: Cheap Vans Men Shoes

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Barry Coughlan (Ballygunner)
4. Noel Connors (Passage)

9. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)
5. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg)
17. Stephen Daniels (De La Salle)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)
10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)

12. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)
21. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)
11. Pauric Mahony (Ballygunner)

20. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)
23. Tom Devine (Modeligo)
13. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)


6. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion) for Kearney (53)
22. Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg) for Bennett (55)
15. Jake Dillon (De La Salle) for Devine (63)
19. Gavin O’Brien (Roanmore) for Curran (69)
7. Shane McNulty (De La Salle) for Daniels (71)


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Joey Holden (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
3. Padraig Walsh (Tullaroan)
4. Conor O Shea (Clara)

17. Kieran Joyce (Rower Inistioge)
5. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro)

8. Ollie Walsh (Dicksboro)
9. Conor Fogarty (Erins Own)

10. Pat Lyng (Rower Inistioge)
11. TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks)
12. Sean Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)

13. Jonjo Farrell (Thomastown)
14. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
15. Richie Hogan (Danesfort)


25. Walter Walsh (Tullogher-Rosbercon) for Morrissey (H-T)
22. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels) for Ollie Walsh (52)
24. Richie Leahy (Rower-Inistioge) for Lyng (56)
19. Shane Prendergast (Clara) for Buckley (61)
23. Conor Martin (Emeralds) for Blanchfield (74)

Referee: Fergal Horgan (Tipperary)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *