IT Carlow 4-16
UL 0-23

John Fallon reports from University of Limerick

KILKENNY LEGEND DJ Carey said he was thrilled to guide IT Carlow into the semi-finals of the Fitzgibbon Cup after they sent UL crashing out in a cracking encounter in Limerick.

UL’s David Gleeson with Enda Rowland and Damien Healy of IT Carlow.

Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Carey said it was a huge achievement for the Carlow college to make it to the last four when the concluding stages of this season’s competition in Galway next week.

Three goals in a blistering start paved the way to knock out Brian Lohan’s fancied side in front of a big crowd at UL. Mark Russell, Jack Fagan and Martin Kavanagh all hit the net in the first half.

Jack Fagan bagged a first-half goal for IT Carlow.

Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

UL recovered after the break but Chris Bolger clinched victory with the fourth goal near the finish.

Source: HE GAA/YouTube

The result now propels IT Carlow into a semi-final tie with UCC next week.

“We are absolutely thrilled, no words can describe how thrilled we are,” said Carey.

Incredible from @ITCarlowGAA, they have qualified for their first Fitzgibbon weekend and it is truly deserved 👏👏👏

— Carlow GAA (@Carlow_GAA) February 15, 2017

Source: Carlow GAA/Twitter

“The goals in the first-half were crucial, we spoke about it during the week that we needed goals.

“Even if we weren’t scoring them we needed to put doubt in the opposition. That’s what you try to do every day, it doesn’t always work but it did this time and things went right for us in the first half.”

It gets heated on the sideline between UL’s Brian Lohan and IT Carlow’s DJ Carey

Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Mark Russell, Stephen Maher and Colin Dunford were all to the fore as IT Carlow recovered from an early barrage of points from Gearoid Hegarty, David Gleeson and Jason Forde.

“UL started very well against the breeze, they scored three points but then we go back into it and then we got a goal, then another one and another one. Three points each time is worth an awful lot in a game like this,” added Carey.

All six IT Carlow forwards on the scoreboard by the interval and Russell added to his earlier goal with a point just 15 seconds after the restart to push the lead out to five points and leave UL chasing the game.

UL’s Kevin Hehir battles with IT Carlow’s Charles Dwyer

Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

UL needed a goal to ignite their challenge but IT Carlow goalkeeper Enda Rowland was superb and so too was full-back Kevin Hannafine from Kerry.

Tony Kelly did most to lead the UL comeback and David Fitzpatrick’s third point edged them in front nine minutes from time.

But IT Carlow finished superbly with a string of points before Bolger’s goal sealed a famous win.

UL’s David Gleeson reacts after a missed goal chance

Source: Morgan Treacy/INPHO

Scorers for IT Carlow: Stephen Maher 0-6 (4f, 1 ’65), Jack Fagan 1-2, Martin Kavanagh 1-2, Mark Russell 1-1, Chris Bolger 1-1, Charles Dwyer 0-2, James Doyle 0-1, Colin Dunford 0-1.

Scorers for UL: John McGrath 0-8 (6f, 1 ’65), Tony Kelly 0-4, David Fitzgerald 0-3, Gearoid Hegarty 0-2, Aidan McGuane 0-2, Aidan McGuane 0-2, Michael Mullins 0-1, Jason Forde 0-1 (f).

IT Carlow

1. Enda Rowland (Laois)

Click Here: Palmeiras soccer tracksuit

2. Dwayne Palmer (Laois)
3. Kevin Hannafin (Kerry)
4. Ross Browne (Waterford)

8. James Doyle (Carlow)
6. Damian Healy (Meath)
7. Dale O’Hanlon (Tipperary)

29. Kevin Kelly (Kilkenny)
9. Colin Dunford (Waterford)

10. Charles Dwyer (Laois)
14. Stephen Maher (Laois)
12. Martin Kavanagh (Carlow)

13. Jack Fagan (Waterford)
11. Mark Russell (Tipperary)
15. Chris Bolger (Kilkenny)


17. Tommy Nolan (Tipperary) for Kelly (46)


16. Paul Maher (Moyne-Templetuohy, Tipperary)

2. Michael Casey (Na Pairsaigh, Limerick)
6. Brian Troy (Emeralds, Kilkenny)
27. Liam O’Connor (Newmarket-on-Fergus, Clare)

5. Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Eire Og, Tipperary)
12. Jason Forde (Silvermines, Tipperary)
3. David Fitzgerald (Inagh/Kilnamona, Clare)

7. Aidan McGuane (Kilmaley, Clare)
8. Kevin Hehir (Inagh/Kilnamona, Clare)

10. Tom Morrissey (Ahane, Limerick)
11. Tony Kelly (Ballyea, Clare)
20. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s, Limerick)

18. David Gleeson (Ballyinahinch, Tipperary)
14. Mike Mullins (Gort, Galway)
15. John McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney, Tipperary)


17. Bobby Duggan (Clarecastle, Clare) for Troy (h-t)
26. Barry Nash (South Liberties, Limerick) for Gleeson (55)

Referee: Diarmuid Kirwan (Cork)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *