Carbery Rangers and Glen Rovers were the 2016 Cork senior champions.

THE DUST IS settling on the 2016 club championships but the focus has already switched in places to 2017.

The draws took place this afternoon for the first rounds of next year’s Cork senior hurling and football championships at the county’s annual GAA convention.

In football reigning champions Carbery Rangers – who won a historic first title this year – are up against local rivals Clonaklity in a West Cork derby in their first round tie.

This year’s beaten finalists and 2014 champions Ballincollig were paired against St Finbarr’s while 2015 kingpins Nemo Rangers will take on O’Donovan Rossa.

In hurling the title holders Glen Rovers – who will be bidding for three-in-a-row in 2017 – will meet Bride Rovers in their opening round and if they win that game, they will take on Sarsfields in a repeat of the 2014 and 2015 county senior finals.

This year’s beaten finalists Erins Own are paired against fellow East Cork side Killeagh.

The draws in full are:

Senior Football Championship

Preliminary Round

Newcestown v Douglas
Dohenys v Aghada

Round 1

A. Avondhu v Kiskeam
B. Carrigaline v Bishopstown
C. Cork IT v Castlehaven
D. Clyda Rovers v Newcestown/Douglas
E. O’Donovan Rossa v Nemo Rangers
F. Seandun v St Nicholas
G. Carbery Rangers v Clonakilty
H. Duhallow v Muskerry
I. UCC v Dohenys/Aghada
J. Beara v Valley Rovers
K. St Finbarrs v Ballincollig
L. Ilen Rovers v Carbery

Round 2A (Winners of Round 1)

D v G
C v L
E v B
A v I
K v J
H v F

Round 2B (Losers of Round 1 & Preliminary Round 1)

Losers Newcestown/Douglas v K
Losers Dohenys/Aghada v C
E v D
G v H
A v I
L v F
B v J

Senior Hurling Championship

Preliminary Round

Glen Rovers v Bride Rovers
Bandon v Muskerry

Round 1

A. Avondhu v Carbery
B. Na Piarsaigh v Newtownshandrum
C. Killeagh v Erins Own
D. Bishopstown v Imokilly
E. Ballymartle v St Finbarrs
F. Glen Rovers/Bride Rovers v Sarsfields
G. Cork IT v Douglas
H. Duhallow v Youghal
I. Blackrock v Bandon/Muskerry
J. UCC v Carrigdhoun
K. Ballyhea v Newcestown
L. Carrigtwohill v Midleton

Round 2 (Winners from Round 1)

L v C
A v B
D v J
I v E
G v K
H v F

Click Here: cheap converse men high top shoes

Round 2B (Losers from Round 1& Preliminary Round)

Losers Glen Rovers/Bride Rovers v A
Losers Bandon/Muskerry v J
L v I
D v K
B v H
C v G
F v E

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *