JACK O’CONNOR HAS named an inexperienced Kerry side to face Tipperary in tomorrow’s McGrath Cup round one clash in Tralee’s Austin Stack Park. [Throw-in at 2pm]

The Kerry seniors only resumed training last Tuesday night, so O’Connor and his U21 management team take charge of the Kingdom’s seasonal debut. They’ve named a squad drawn entirely from the county’s U21 panel.

Brian Ó Beaglaoich starts at wing back and is the most recognisable name included, having enjoyed game-time with Kerry seniors last summer.

But Eamonn Fitzmaurice will no doubt be closely watching the performances of goalkeeper Shane Ryan, defenders Jason Foley and Daniel O’Brien, and corner-forward Conor Geaney.

Incidentally, Ryan gave a man of the match display against county champions Dr Crokes in the O’Donoghue Cup final last month, scoring three points from full forward.

Matthew O’Sullivan will captain the side against Tipperary, but Kerry also confirmed that Crokes will wait until after their interest in the All-Ireland club campaign ends before they name the new Kerry senior captain. As a result Fitzmaurice is expected to appoint an interim skipper in the near future.

Click Here: rapid prototyping

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Tipperary boss Liam Kearns has also announced his starting 15 for the game.

A pair of last year’s Young Footballer of the Year nominees, Josh Keane and Jimmy Feehan, start in the middle third, in a team that includes Kevin Fahey, Liam Casey, Martin Dunne and Jason Lonergan.

Kearns has named three 2015 All-Star nominees, Evan Comerford, Conor Sweeney and Robbie Kiely, on an extremely strong bench.


1. Shane Ryan (Rathmore)

2. Tom Leo O’Sullivan (Dingle)
3. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
4. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

5. Brian Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht)
6. Andrew Barry (Na Gaeil)
7. Daniel O’Brien (Glenflesk)

8. Barry O’Sullivan (Dingle)
9. Brian Ó Seanacháin (Ballydonoghue)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

10. Brandon Barrett (Ardfert)
11. Sean O’Shea (Kenmare)
12. Lee O’Donoghue (Glenflesk)

13. Conor Geaney (Dingle)
14. Matthew O’Sullivan (St Michaels-Foilmore)
15. Cathal Bambury (Dingle)


16. Eoghan O’Brien (Churchill)
17. Brian Sugrue (Renard)
18. Matthew Flaherty (Dingle)
19. Liam Kearney (Spa)
20. Liam Carey (Beaufort)
21. Cormac Coffey (Kerins O’Rahillys)
22. Ivan Parker (Churchill)
23. Robert Wharton (Renard)
24. Darren Brosnan (Gneeveguilla)
25. Bryan Sweeney (Listowel Emmets)
26. Michael Foley (Spa)


1. Ciarán Kenrick (Moyle Rovers)

2. Joseph Hennessy (Loughmore-Castleiney)
3. Paddy Codd (Killenaule)
4. Willie Connors (Kiladangan)

5. Emmet Moloney (Drom & Inch)
6. Jimmy Feehan (Killenaule)
7. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials)

8. Liam Casey (Cahir)
9. Martin Dunne (Capt.) (Moyle Rovers)

10. Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials)
11. Liam Treacy (Loughmore-Castleiney)
12. Josh Keane (Golden-Kilfeacle)

13. Liam Boland (Moyle Rovers)
14. Colm Stapleton (Upperchurch-Drombane)
15. Diarmuid Foley (Moyle Rovers)


16. Evan Comerford (Kilsheelan-Kilcash)
17. Brian Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty-Donohill)
18. Conor Sweeney (Ballyporeen)
19. Robbie Kiely (Carbery Rangers)
20. Colm O’Shaughnessy (Ardfinnan)
21. Alan Moloney (Rockwell Rovers)
22. Philip Austin (Borrisokane)
23. Jack Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials)
24. David Butler (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams)
25. Cian Hennessy (Loughmore-Castleiney)
26. Aidan McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *