Dublin 2-17
Carlow 1-13

Paul Keane reports from Parnell Park

DUBLIN CAPTAIN LIAM Rushe saw red at Parnell Park where Dublin finished strong to begin their Bord na Mona Walsh Cup campaign with victory.

Ger Cunningham’s new look panel were just three ahead of a dogged Carlow side when Rushe and Carlow’s Jack Kavanagh were shown straight red cards in the 61st minute.

But Dublin upped the ante from there on and sub Alex Quinn contributed 1-1 late on to put the result beyond doubt.

Quinn also hit 1-4 last weekend for the Dubs Stars in the annual challenge and looks certain to push hard for a spot in Cunningham’s panel following a pre-season overhaul.

The Dubs were without 23 players for the Walsh opener for various reasons and Rushe was one of just three players retained in the lineup from last year’s qualifier defeat to Cork.

The rookie outfit found the going difficult and despite running 0-5 to 0-1 clear early on actually fell behind after a Chris Nolan Carlow goal.

Cian O’Sullivan responded with a fine solo goal for Dublin who led 1-10 to 1-6 at the break.

Free-taker Denis Murphy scored nine points in total for Carlow who remained right in there for long spells in the second-half. But Murphy left the field with an arm injury late on and Dublin finished with that burst to begin 2017 with a win.

New Dublin hurling prospect and Galway native Donie Fox

Source: Tommy Dickson/INPHO

Scorers for Dublin: Donal Burke 0-5 (0-5f), Donie Fox 0-4 (0-3f, 0-1 ’65), Alex Quinn 1-1, Cian O’Sullivan 1-0, Fionntain McGibb 0-2 (0-1 sideline), Sean McGrath, Liam Rushe, Conor Burke, Canice Maher, Fergal Whitely, Ben Quinn 0-1 each.

Scorers for Carlow: Denis Murphy 0-9 (0-8f, 0-1 ’65), Chris Nolan 1-0, Paul Coady 0-3), John Michael Nolan, Edward Byrne 0-1 each.


1. Jonathan Treacy – Na Fianna

2. Darragh Gray – Whitehall Colmcille
3. Shane Barrett – Na Fianna
4. Fionn Ó Riain Broin – St. Judes

5. Matthew McCaffrey – Lucan Sarsfields
6. Chris Crummey – Lucan Sarsfields
7. Sean McGrath – Kilmacud Crokes

8. Liam Rushe – St. Patrick’s Palmerstown
9. Donie Fox – St. Judes

10. Conor Burke – St. Vincents
11. Tomás Connolly – St. Vincents
12. Fionntain McGibb – Setanta

13. Canice Maher – St. Judes
14. Donal Burke – Na Fianna
15. Cian O’Sullivan – St. Brigids


22. Fergal Whitely (Kilmacud Crokes) for Conor Burke (half-time)
21. Ben Quinn (Crumlin) for McCaffrey (half-time)
28. Alex Quinn (Crumlin) for Connolly (half-time)
16. Gary Maguire (Ballyboden St-Enda’s) for Treacy (half-time)
24. Niall McMorrow (Ballyboden St-Enda’s) for Maher (56)
23. Caolan Conway (Kilmacud Crokes) for McGrath (62)


16. Brian Treacy (Naomh Eoin)

23. Paul Doyle (St Mullins)
3. Ricahrd Kelly (Mount Leinster Rangers)
2. Dion Wall (Ballinkillen)

4. Richard Coady (Mount Leinster Rangers)
6. Diarmuid Byrne (Mount Leinster Rangers)
7. James O’Hara (Naomh Eoin)

21. Jack Kavanagh (St Mullins)
11. Craig Wall (Ballinkillen)

10. John Michael Nolan (Naomh Eoin)
8. Jack Murphy (Mount Leinster Rangers)
22. Kevin McDonald (Mount Leinster Rangers)

14. Denis Murphy (Mount Leinster Rangers)
12. Edward Byrne (Mount Leinster Rangers)
15. Chris Nolan (Mount Leinster Rangers)


5. Gary Bennett (St Mullins) for Kelly (half-time)
9. Paul Coady (Mount Leinster Rangers) for C Nolan (half-time)
13. Sean Brennan (Ballinkillen) for McDonald (46)
19. David English (Ballinkillen) for O’Hara (48)
20. Eoin Redmond (Naomh Eoin) for Wall (50)
18. Andrew Casey (Erins Own) for R Coady (55)
25. Seamus Murphy (St Mullins) for J Murphy (62)
26. Shane Kavanagh (Naomh Eoin) for Doyle (62)
23. Doyle (St Mullins) for Byrne (64)
22. McDonald (Mount Leinster Rangers) for D Murphy (68).

Referee: M Murtagh (Westmeath).

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Click Here: soccer jackets

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *