Garda College 0-8
Cork IT 0-3

Jackie Cahill reports from Templemore

GARDA COLLEGE BREEZED into round 2 of the Sigerson Cup with a five-point victory over Cork IT in Templemore this afternoon.

Garda College had home advantage and they made it count to set up a clash with University of Ulster – a repeat of last year’s meeting at the same juncture of the competition.

In cold and windy conditions, Garda made the best of it as Limerick’s Seamus O’Carroll, Clare’s Eoin Cleary and Westmeath’s Thomas McDaniel chipped in with a brace of points each.

The fare on offer was poor and while Garda played against the elements in the first half, they still led by 0-3 to 0-1 at the break against a disappointing CIT outfit.

The visitors’ cause wasn’t helped by two black cards within the opening 15 minutes.

Tipperary’s Jason Lonergan went in the eighth minute before full-back and Limerick native Dan Daly followed suit midway through the half.

Garda were three points clear by the 15th minute – McDaniel landing two points, including a free, with Cleary also on target.

It took CIT until the 27th minute to open their account when Eoin Lavers pointed but they wouldn’t score again until nine minutes from time and by then, Garda were 0-7 to 0-1 clear.

Cork’s Eoin Lavers (left) was part of the CIT team today.

Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

CIT also registered 13 wides during the game, ten in the first half as they struggled to cope with the conditions.

Garda’s tactics were clever as Brendan Murphy and Darren Gallagher did well at midfield and Peter Kelleher came out to provide an extra body under the kick-out, with the home side claiming a number of useful marks.

Cork footballer Peter Kelleher was part of the victorious Garda College team

Source: Donall Farmer/INPHO

CIT did show some fight towards the end and Kieran Murphy rattled the crossbar with a free from the hand but Garda were full value for the win.

Garda finished the game with 14 men, however, when sub Teddy Doyle was dismissed for a second bookable offence.

Click Here: Geelong Cats Guernsey

Scorers for Garda College: Seamus O’Carroll, Eoin Cleary & Thomas McDaniel (1f) 0-2 each, Brendan Murphy & Darren Gallagher 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork IT: Kevin Fahey, Eoin Lavers & Brian Coakley (f) 0-1 each.

Kevin Fahey was part of the CIT side today.

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

Garda College

1. Seamus Murphy (Templeglantine, Limerick)

2. Shane O’Malley (Michael Glaveys, Roscommon)
3. Graham Petit (Clann na nGael, Roscommon)
4. James Morris (St Patrick’s Arvagh, Cavan)

5. Brian Kane (Naas, Kildare)
6. Tomas Featherstone (Oran, Roscommon)
7. Peadar Morris (St Patrick’s Arvagh, Cavan)

8. Brendan Murphy (Rathvilly, Carlow)
9. Darren Gallagher (St Marys Granard, Longford)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

10. Seamus O’Carroll (Cappagh, Limerick)
11. Andy Tormey (Donaghmore, Meath)
12. Caoileann Fitzmaurice (Michael Glaveys, Roscommon)

13. Eoin Cleary (St Josephs Miltown, Clare)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael, Cork)
15. Thomas McDaniel (Ballinagore, Westmeath)


21. Teddy Doyle (Templenoe, Kerry) for Fitzmaurice (47)
17. Kevin Tarrant (Banteer, Limerick) for J Morris (47)
22. Gearoid Ennis (Fuerty, Roscommon) for Cleary (58)
20. Kevin Nugent (Ferbane, Offaly) for P Morris (60)

Cork IT

1. Conor Madden (Barryroe, Cork)

2. Brian Sugrue (Renard, Kerry)
3. Dan Daly (Fr Caseys, Limerick)
4. Sean Daly (Dohenys, Cork)

5. Paul O’Sullivan (Valentia Young Islanders, Kerry)
6. Kevin Fahey (Clonmel Commercials, Tipperary)
7. Eoin Lavers (Dohenys, Cork)

8. Ian O’Callaghan (St Finbarrs, Cork)
9. Daniel Meaney (St Michaels, Cork)

10. Jason Lonergan (Clonmel Commercials, Tipperary)
11. Kieran Murphy (Kilcummin, Kerry)
12. Sean O’Sullivan (Aghabollogue, Cork)

13. Dilan O’Donoghue (Dromid Pearses, Kerry)
14. Conor O’Keeffe (Newmarket, Cork)
15. Mark Collins (O’Donovan Rossa, Cork)


19. Martin Collins (Kilmacabea, Cork) for Lonergan (b/c 8)
17. Cian Ó Murchú (An Gaeltacht, Kerry) for D Daly (b/c 15)
24. Brian Coakley (Carrigaline, Cork) for O’Donoghue (inj., 30+2)
18. Michael Lordan (Ballinora, Cork) for P O’Sullivan (36)
21. Eoin O’Sullivan (Douglas, Cork) for S O’Sullivan (41)
20. Conor Kingston (Douglas, Cork) for Lavers (49)

Referee: John Hickey (Carlow)


IT Sligo 3-13
GMIT 2-7

In today’s other Sigerson Cup game, IT Sligo ran out nine-point victors over GMIT at Tuam Stadium.

The winners were ahead 2-5 to 1-6 at half-time but were pegged back when GMIT drew level at 2-6 apiece early in the second half.

The crucial score arrived at the three-quarter mark when Donegal’s Jamie Brennan banged home IT Sligo’s third goal to put them in front 3-8 to 2-7 and they reeled off five points without reply in the finale to seal success.

Galway’s Joseph Donnellan hit both goals for GMIT while Mayo’s James Shaughnessy top scored for IT Sligo as he struck 1-6. Mayo’s Bryan Walsh notched the other goal for IT Sligo.

Their reward for today’s victory is an away trip against defending champions UCD in Belfield next Tuesday night.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *