Kerry 1-13
Cork 1-9

Denis Hurley reports from Mallow

A GOOD KERRY start meant that they never looked like being overhauled in qualifying for the McGrath Cup final at Mallow on Sunday afternoon, with victory over Cork setting up a meeting with Kerry.

Kerry’s Jack Barry was fouled by Cork goalkeeper Ken O’Halloran for a penalty.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

With both of these counties having beaten Tipperary, this was winner-takes-all, but a sparkling performance from the Kingdom’s full-forward Jack Savage underpinned a superior display from them.

While Eamonn Fitzmaurice’s side didn’t score in the final 12 minutes, their last point, from Barry John Keane, put them 1-13 to 0-8 in front.

Though Cork’s main scoring threat Niall Coakley would get a goal with ten minutes left – allied to five points – wastefulness in front of goal continued to be the Rebels’ undoing, as they finished with 13 wides.

The opening 15 minutes brought six unanswered Kerry points, Savage with four of them. Tadhg Morley and Jack Barry impressed at midfield for the visitors while early sub Brendan O’Sullivan also showed up well.

Kerry’s Jack Savage weighted in with 0-6 this afternoon.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Though Coakley and Brian O’Driscoll got Cork off the mark, Kerry responded with a James O’Donoghue goal from a penalty after Ken O’Halloran had hauled Barry down.

James O’Donoghue tucks home his first-half penalty.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Coakley did have a couple of Cork points in reply, but O’Donoghue’s third point left Kerry 1-8 to 0-5 ahead at half-time.

There was never much of an indication that the 1,505 crowd would see a comeback, though Cork did have a chance of engineering one when Kerry’s Brian Ó Beaglaioch’s foot-block on Mark Collins resulted in a penalty.

Coakley sent his shot wide and, while he did goal after that, Kerry weren’t to be denied.

1-5 for Cork’s Niall Coakley in Mallow today.

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

Scorers for Kerry: Jack Savage 0-6 (0-1 free), James O’Donoghue 1-3 (1-0 penalty, 0-1 free), Barry John Keane 0-2 (0-1 free), Tom O’Sullivan, Brendan O’Sullivan 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Niall Coakley 1-5 (0-3 frees), Gary Murphy 0-3, Brian O’Driscoll 0-1.


1. Brian Kelly (Legion)

Click Here: football tracksuits

2. Jason Foley (Ballydonoghue)
3. Mark Griffin (St Michael’s/Foilmore)
4. Killian Young (Renard)

5. Brian Ó Beaglaioch (An Ghaeltacht)
6. Peter Crowley (Laune Rangers)
7. Tom O’Sullivan (Dingle)

20. Jack Barry (Na Gaeil)
9. Tadhg Morley (Templenoe)

10. Jonathan Lyne (Legion)
11. Michael Geaney (Dingle)
12. Donnchadh Walsh (Cromane)

13. Barry John Keane (Kerins O’Rahillys)
14. Jack Savage (Kerins O’Rahillys)
15. James O’Donoghue (Legion)


17. Brendan O’Sullivan (Valentia) for Walsh (14, injured)
18. Gavin Crowley (Templenoe) for Ó Beaglaioch (44)
21. Ronan Shanahan (Austin Stacks) for Foley (51)
23. Conor Geaney (Dingle) for O’Donoghue (61)
22. Adrian Spillane (Templenoe) for Tom O’Sullivan (62)
24. Denis Daly (St Mary’s) for Michael Geaney (69)


1. Ken O’Halloran (Bishopstown)

23. James Loughrey (Mallow)
17. Kieran Histon (Cobh)
4. John McLoughlin (Kanturk)

5. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
6. Conor Dorman (Bishopstown)
7. Matthew Taylor (Mallow)

8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s)
9. Ruairí Deane (Bantry Blues)

10. Seán Powter (Douglas)
12. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Cárthaigh)
11. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)

13. Niall Coakley (St Jude’s)
14. Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael)
15. Kevin Davis (O’Donovan Rossa)


21. Alan O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers) for Histon (21, injured)
24. Gary Murphy (Castletownbere) for Powter (half-time)
20. Ronan O’Toole (Éire Óg) for Maguire (49)
25. Eoin Lavers (Dohenys) for Loughrey (62)
18. Don O’Driscoll (Clann nan Gael) for Davis (60)

Referee: Derek O’Mahony (Tipperary)


Elsewhere Limerick got the job done with a 0-9 to 0-6 success over Waterford at Lemybrien to ensure that they finished top of Group 2.

It was a low scoring affair with the teams tied at 0-3 apiece at the interval but Limerick upped the ante in the second half.

They were inspired by Danny Neville as he struck 0-5 after the break to push Limerick into the ascendancy and new manager Billy Lee saw his charges hold on to triumph.

Limerick forward Danny Neville

Source: Lorraine OÕSullivan/INPHO

The win followed up on Limerick’s success over Clare on Wednesday night and sees them top the group.

Fantastic win by @LmkFootballers today, great start to the season. Well done to all the lads and @billyleencw

— Ian Ryan (@ianryano89) January 15, 2017

Source: Ian Ryan/Twitter

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *