SINCE THE COMPETITION began in 1970, Dublin sides have been crowned top dogs in the Leinster club SFC a record 21 times.

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Laois are their nearest challengers thanks to Portlaoise’s seven provincial titles. Dublin sides have enjoyed near-total dominance in Leinster over the last decade. Since 2007, Portlaoise and Garrycastle are the only clubs outside the capital to claim provincial honours.

Click Here: Russia soccer tracksuit

In that time Kilmacud Crokes, Ballymun Kickhams, Ballyboden St Enda’s and St Vincent’s have all reigned supreme in the province. The Marino club are now level with Portlaoise at the top of the tree on seven titles.

They’ve won Leinster three times in four years and are now gunning for a fourth All-Ireland title in the club’s history.

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

In contrast, Rhode’s losing run in provincial finals continues.

Their fifth Leinster final defeat will be a bitter pill to swallow, especially for manager Paschal Kellaghan who played in the first four, and veterans like the McNamee brothers, Niall and Alan, the Sullivans, Pauric and Shane, the Darbys, Niall and Brian, and Ciaran Heavey.

It’s a tough day too for Jake Kavanagh and the youngest Sullivan brother, Anton, who missed the biggest game of their careers as they’re serving with the Defence Forces in the Lebanon.

What’s even more frustrating for The Village is their inability to account for Dublin teams on the big occasion. Kilmacud Crokes (2008 and 2010) and St Vincent’s (2014 and 2016) have twice defeated the Offaly champions, while it was Kildare’s Moorefield who beat them in 2006.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *