Cork 2-10
Limerick 0-10

Denis Hurley reports from Páirc Uí Rinn

LAST YEAR’S BEATEN EirGrid All-Ireland U21 football championship finalists Cork are in the Munster final for a seventh year in a row after they came from behind to see off Limerick at Páirc Uí Rinn tonight.

Trailing by two points, 0-9 to 1-4, at half-time, the Rebels held their opponents to just a point in the second half the game wasn’t made safe until sub Michael Hurley got Cork’s second goal in injury time.

Having had the benefit of an extra time win over Tipperary last week, Limerick played to a higher intensity in the first half but those exertions against the Premier County may unfortunately have played a part in the Shannonsiders ultimately being reeled in.

Limerick scored the game’s first two points through Kieran Daly and Hugh Bourke and though Cork replied with a Maidhcí Ó Duinnín goal, brilliantly set up by Seán Powter, it didn’t knock the Treatymen.

Bourke’s free-taking was excellent and Brian Donovan also impressed as they moved 0-7 to 1-2 in front by the 21st minute.

When Cork full-back John Mullins was penalised for a footblock on Bourke’s shot after AJ O’Connor forced a turnover, Limerick had a great chance to move five points in front but Cork goalkeeper Ross Donovan saved brilliantly from O’Connor.

Penalty for @LimerickCLG … and it's SAVED by @NemoRangersGAA's Ross Donovan

— Cork's RedFM Sport (@BigRedBench) March 15, 2017

Source: Cork’s RedFM Sport/Twitter

Buoyed by that, Cork closed to within two points through sub Hurley and then Gary Murphy, though Bourke left two in it at half-time.

Brian Coakley and Stephen Sherlock inspired Cork to move in front early in the second half, but Bourke tied matters once more for Limerick, who couldn’t be shaken off.

Cork forward Brian Coakley

Source: Ryan Byrne/INPHO

Eventually, Cork did manage to put daylight between the sides, Sherlock with a lovely curler and Hurley with two points.

Limerick might have felt that Donovan deserved a penalty when two points separated the sides, but a Cork 45 could also have been given as a spot-kick for a similar foot block to the Limerick penalty.

In any event, Hurley was on hand to leave six in it at the end, with Powter the provider once more. Kerry will provide Cork’s Munster final opposition at the same venue in a fortnight.

Scorers for Cork: Michael Hurley 1-3, Brian Coakley 0-4 (0-2 frees), Maidhcí Ó Duinnín 1-0, Stephen Sherlock 0-2 (0-1 free), Gary Murphy 0-1.

Scorers for Limerick: Hugh Bourke 0-5 (frees), Brian Donovan 0-2, Richard Hayes (free), Kieran Daly, AJ O’Connor 0-1 each.


1. Ross Donovan (Nemo Rangers)

2. Seán Daly (Dohenys)
3. John Mullins (Éire Óg)
4. Seán Wilson (Douglas)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

5. Jerry O’Riordan (Carbery Rangers)
6. Aidan Browne (Newmarket)
7. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)

18. Eoin Lavers (Dohenys)
9. Seán O’Leary (Bantry Blues)

10. Brian Coakley (Carrigaline)
11. Seán Powter (Douglas)
12. Daniel Meaney (St Michael’s)

13. Gary Murphy (Castletownbere)
14. Maidhcí Ó Duinnín (Naomh Abán)
15. Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarr’s)


21. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven) for Meaney (22)
20. Seán O’Donoghue (Inniscarra) for O’Leary (28)
19. Liam O’Donovan (Clonakilty) for Ó Duinnín (half-time)
22. Seán O’Donovan (Ilen Rovers) for Sherlock (56)
24. Mark Buckley (Dohenys) for Coakley (60)


1. Richard Hayes (St Senan’s)

4. Edward Sheehy (Granagh-Ballingarry)
6. Michael Donovan (Galbally)
2. David Connolly (Adare)

5. Robert Childs (Galtee Gaels)
7. Cormac Flanagan (Crecora)
8. Brian Fanning (Pallasgreen)

3. Jim Liston (Gerald Griffins)
9. Tommie Childs (Galtee Gaels)

12. Pádraig de Brún (Firies, Kerry)
10. Seán Murphy (Newcastlewest)
14. Brian Donovan (Monaleen)

13. Kieran Daly (Na Piarsaigh)
11. AJ O’Connor (Monaleen)
15. Hugh Bourke (Adare)


18. Shane Stack (Newcastlewest) for de Brún (46)
24. Mark Connolly (Adare) for O’Connor (51)
21. Stephen Brosnan (Newcastlewest) for Flanagan (56)
20. Mikey Whelan (Hospital-Herbertstown) for Robert Childs (57)

Referee: Rory Hickey (Clare)

Source: The42 GAA/SoundCloud

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Click Here: International soccer tracksuit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *