UCC 1-8
UCD 1-5

Jackie Cahill reports from Belfield

MARK O’BRIEN’S SECOND-half goal proved pivotal as UCC took control of Group D in the Fitzgibbon Cup, claiming their second successive win in the competition.

Mark O’Brien hit the only goal of the game for UCC.

Hosts UCD were held scoreless in the second half as atrocious weather conditions proved difficult for both sides to cope with.

What promised to be one of the ties of the round descended into near farce but, operating with a gale in the second half, UCC reeled in a five-point interval lead to win by three.

UCD had got off to a brilliant start when Waterford’s DJ Foran netted in the first minute and by half-time, Nicky English’s Belfield hosts were 1-5 to 0-3 clear.

Foran added to his goal with three points – all from placed balls – as Dublin’s Cian Mac Gabhann chipped in with a brace.

UCC had two points from Cork’s Rob O’Shea in the opening half, one a free, and a James O’Flynn effort.

0-3 today for Rob O’Shea for UCC

Source: Cathal Noonan/INPHO

As the elements played a real part, every score would prove crucial and the visitors dug in to play ‘damage limitation’ in the first half.

After the break, UCC then took a firm stranglehold on proceedings, eventually putting themselves within touching distance of a home quarter-final.

Cork ace Alan Cadogan kick-started the second half scoring, before turning provider for Gavin O’Brien.

Alan Cadogan was part of UCC’s winning team

Source: James Crombie/INPHO

With 17 minutes left, Waterford’s Mark O’Brien drilled home a fine goal from an acute angle and UCC were level at 1-5 apiece.

UCC hit the front for the first time when sub Chris O’Leary pointed with his first touch before scores from Rob O’Shea (free) and goalscorer O’Brien closed the game out.

Scorers for UCC: Mark O’Brien 1-1, Rob O’Shea 0-3 (2f), Alan Cadogan, James O’Flynn, Gavin O’Brien & Chris O’Leary 0-1 each.

Scorers for UCD: DJ Foran 1-3 (0-2f, 0-1 65), Cian Mac Gabhann 0-2.


1. Dylan Desmond (Éire Óg, Cork)

2. Ian Kenny (Ballygunner, Waterford)
3. Colm Spillane (Castlelyons, Cork)
4. Shane Roche (Shamrocks, Waterford)

5. Seamus Kennedy (St Mary’s, Tipperary)
6. Conor Gleeson (Fouremilewater, Waterford)
7. Rickard Cahalane (Ballymartle, Cork)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater, Waterford)
9. Michael Breen (Ballina, Tipperary)

10. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank, Waterford)
11. Tom Devine (Modeligo, Waterford)
28. Gavin O’Brien (Roanmore, Waterford)

13. Alan Cadogan (Douglas, Cork)
14. James O’Flynn (Erins Own, Cork)
15. Rob O’Shea (Carrigaline, Cork)


32. Chris O’Leary (Valley Rovers, Cork) for Breen (47)
34. Anthony Spillane (Castlelyons, Cork) for O’Flynn (51)
20. Eddie Gunning (Na Piarsaigh, Cork) for C Spillane (55)
33. Colm Roche (Shamrocks, Waterford) for G O’Brien (56)


1. Darragh Holohan (Dicksboro, Kilkenny)

2. Eddie Hayden (Ballygunner, Waterford)
3. Paddy Hannon (Athenry, Galway)
4. Cian Mac Gabhann (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)

5. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels, Kilkenny)
6. Tadhg de Búrca (Clashmore/Kinsalebeg, Waterford)
7. Cillian Buckley (Dicksboro, Kilkenny)

8. Cian O’Callaghan (Cuala, Dublin)
9. Jack O’Connor (St Martin’s, Wexford)

10. James Maher (St Lachtain’s, Kilkenny)
22. Colm Cronin (Cuala, Dublin)
12. Padraic Guinan (Drumcullen, Offaly)

13. Oisin O’Rorke (Kilmacud Crokes, Dublin)
14. Luke Scanlon (James Stephens, Kilkenny)
15. DJ Foran (Portlaw, Waterford)


21. Stephen Quirke (Moyle Rovers, Tipperary) for O’Rorke (28)
24. John Joe Ryan (Tipperary) for Maher (48)
18. Brian Quigley (Wexford) for Mac Gabhann (53)
27. Tom Phelan (Kilkenny) for Guinan (57)

Click Here: cheap newcastle knights jersey

Referee: Alfie Devine (Westmeath)


In the other game in Group D of the Fitzgibbon Cup, Maynooth University cruised to a 4-23 to 1-7 victory against Ulster University.

But they will need to get a result next Tuesday against UCC though to try and book their spot in the quarter-finals.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *